Samstag, 23. März 2013
First Experiences at Kapkuikui
After organizing everything in the first few days I started to teach CRE (Christian Religions Education) and maths in the Primary School at Kapkuikui.

For me as a German I was very happy that I was allowed to teach direct out from the Bible. In Germany most of the CRE teacher are not Christians and they teach more ethics and Biblical thoughts. Therefore here I was so happy to teach about Bible issues.

Now I was teaching about: "Why was Jesus dying?", "What is happening after death?", "What is eternal life?" and that really made me very happy!!!

Beside my teaching I spent a lot of time with the teachers. It was a great time of discussion and everyone was welcoming me very hearty.

In the back of the church there are a few rooms and at that time there were living two boys and six girls and I had a small room for myself.

While the smaller children were sleeping after lunch I used the time to prepare my lectures for the following day at school.

In the afternoon I was making a lot of arts with them and a mixed program like in a German nursery: learning numbers and colours, painting and drawing, playing games and so on. The children were very happy and we were laughing a lot.

In the early evening the older children were coming from school. Even those ones liked to make some arts like the smaller ones and we were creating together small table games out from coloured papers.

I was impressed how intensive those children were able to pray and how deep they could open their hearts before the LORD.

On Saturdays I took the possiblity to visit some church members at their homes to get to know each other much better.

Everywhere the people were welcoming me very heartily. But I realized how difficult it is to communicate with the women who every often don´t know any English and I knew just a few words in Kiswahili and absolutly no Kalenjin (the local tribe language).

But we were sitting together, holding hands and we were laughing together and it was a great fellowship...

Also for me it was very important to get to know the church as much as possible. Therefore on Friday evenings I went to a Bible study group for couples and on Sundays I visited the church service.

The Sundayschool teachers were inviting me very heartily to teach Sundayschool on Sundays what I was doing three times. Also here we had a great fellowship and the teachers enjoyed to work with me together.

Alltogether it was a very great time at Kapkuikui. I really felt at home from the very first moment. I had the deep desire to come back here as a missionary.

...already 612 x read